Webinar: CORAL Great Barrier Reef Campaign

The NASA CORAL project (http://coral.jpl.nasa.gov)  has commenced to collect airborne and field data from a number of reefs around the world to assessreef “condition” described by measurable quantities of benthic cover of coral, algae, and sand; primary productivity; and calcification. The COral Reef Airborne Laboratory (CORAL) is a three-year NASA Earth Venture Suborbital project to measure the condition of coral reefs and understand their relation to the environment. CORAL will use airborne spectral imaging to generate calibrated scientific data products and models describing reef condition, namely the composition, primary production, and calcification of the seafloor community. The Great Barrier component will involve support from the University of Queensland and CSIRO. By using airborne measurements, CORAL is explicitly designed to provide complete survey coverage for a large number of individual, whole reef systems.

The CORAL investigation will focus on the reefs of Hawaii, Palau, the Mariana Islands, and portions of the Great Barrier Reef. Field and airborne campaigns are planned for 2016-2017. All CORAL data and products will be publicly available.

A webinar will be held to outline the Australian – Great Barrier Reef and Coral Sea Reefs, segment of the project, details for connecting to the seminar are contained in the attached PDF flyer at the following times:

Thursday 26 May at 9:30 AM AEST

  • Wednesday 25 May 8:30 PM ADT
  • Wednesday 25 May 4:30 PM PDT
  • Thursday 26 May 12:30 AM GMT

More Details, pre-ICRS Workshop, June 18 2016:

The CORAL team would also like to engage the wider reef science and management communities through a science workshop. We will present the algorithms and technology underpinning CORAL, and we hope to foster discussion about the science that CORAL will enable. The workshop will be held 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM on Saturday June 18, 2016 at the University of Hawai’i at Manoa in Honolulu. If you are interested, please add your name to the attendee list by sending your contact information to Stacy Peltier (stacy.peltier@bios.edu). We will send further details to attendees as the workshop approaches.